10 Aug 2020


Heads Of Mission Joint Statement On Media Freedom In South Sudan

The European Union Delegation, the Troika, the Heads of Mission of Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland issue the following statement in South Sudan.

JUBA, 15 June 2017 [Gurtong]-The Heads of Mission are deeply concerned by the exclusion of international journalists by the Government of South Sudan, as highlighted in the recent statement by the Foreign Correspondents’ Association of East Africa (FCAEA).

Such restrictions apply not only to international journalists' entry into South Sudan. They build on a pattern of local media restrictions in violation of the international standards of freedom of expression.

Freedom of expression has an essential role to play in the establishment of peace and stability in South Sudan.

Heads of Mission call on the Government to ensure that local and international journalists in South Sudan are free to report without fear of retribution, and that international journalists are free to visit and report on developments in the country.

Posted in: Home
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Featured Videos
  • What is The National Dialogue?South Sudan Peace Process
  • Expectations of the National DialogueSouth Sudan Peace Process
  • Gurtong Mobile Cinema
What is The National Dialogue?1 Expectations of the National Dialogue2 Gurtong Mobile Cinema3



Gurtong Radio

Peace Efforts Earn Bishop Paride Taban Top UN Award

 English Programs     |      برامج اللغة العربية