26 Feb 2020


Cantonment Sites Identified For Opposition Forces

At least 25 areas have been identified by the Joint Defense Board for cantonment of all opposition forces as part of implementation of peace agreement.

Cantonment Sites Identified For Opposition Forces
Col. Lam Paul Gabriel, the Deputy Military spokesperson of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army in Opposition. [File Photo]

By Ojwe Lumara

JUBA, 04 February 2019 [Gurtong] - Speaking to journalists on Monday, Col. Lam Paul Gabriel, the Deputy Military spokesperson of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army in Opposition (SPLA-IO), said the Joint Defense Board (JDB) in its meeting last week identified the assembly points for the opposition forces as well as 68 major barracks for SSPDF soldiers.

Senior army officers including the SSPDF Chief of Defence Forces and Chairperson of Joint Defence Board, General Gabriel Jok Riak, the Co-Chair of Joint Defence Board for SPLM/A-IO Lt. Gen. James Koang Chuol, and Maj. Gen. Charles Machieng Kuol of South Sudan Opposition (SSOA) signed the agreement for cantonment sites.

“The parties agreed to immediately commence cantonment of opposition forces in 25 cantonment sites, whereas the SSPDF will be cantoned in ten main barracks for phase I,” Col. Lam said.

Article, of the Revitalized Agreement on Resolution of Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS 2018) states all forces to be cantoned under the supervision of the current monitoring bodies.

The cantonment sites for SPLA-IO, SSOA and SSPDF barracks were identified according to geographical areas of the former ten states.

In former Western Bahr-el-Ghazal, SPLA-IO and SSOA forces will be cantoned in Dulu and Bussere areas while in Northern Bahr-el-Ghazal/Warrap, they will be cantoned in Malek Gumel.

The cantonment areas for opposition forces in Upper Nile are in Mirmir, Pakur (Rubkona) and Bong.

In Western Equatoria, they will be assembled at Rirangu Sue (Yambio) and Ngiri (Mundri) while in former Central Equatoria the areas identified are Panyume, Wunaleit and Lobojo (Lobonok).

In Eastern Equatoria; the areas are Ashwa (Pageri), Lorere/Nyara, Nawotkitbong (Kapoeta) while in former Jonglei, they will be camped in Pulturuk, Pieri, Ker (Ayod), Dor (Fangak) and Weibuony in Geni.

In former Upper Nile State, the opposition forces would be camped at Torpuot, Turow, WichPanyikang, Thuorgwang, Lieng (Khoryabus).


Posted in: Home
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Featured Videos
  • What is The National Dialogue?South Sudan Peace Process
  • Expectations of the National DialogueSouth Sudan Peace Process
  • Gurtong Mobile Cinema
What is The National Dialogue?1 Expectations of the National Dialogue2 Gurtong Mobile Cinema3



Gurtong Radio

Peace Efforts Earn Bishop Paride Taban Top UN Award

 English Programs     |      برامج اللغة العربية