President Kiir Creates 28 States Of South Sudan

President Salva Kiir Mayardit on Friday issued Establishment Order No. 36/2015 for the creation of 28 States in the decentralized Republic of South Sudan.

By Jok P Mayom

JUBA, 03 October 2015 [Gurtong]-
President Kiir who appeared on the National Television (SSTV) at 8: 30 pm on Friday readout a 13 page containing 10 orders including; established 28 States, border areas, fundamental objectives, Abyei area, interim orders and amendment.

According to the order, it shall be cited as “The Establishment Order No. 36/2015 AD for the creation of the new South Sudan states” and comes into force in thirty (30) working days from the date of signature by the President.

“The fundamental objectives of the order States that; it will devolve power and resource closer to the people, gradually reduce size of national government, attracts experts to work at the State and Counties level and promote social and economic development amongst the rural communities” reads the order.

Order 4 for the Establishment of 28 States divides the country into Equatoria Based States, Bahr Al Ghazal Based States and Upper Nile based States with 8, 10 and 10 states respectively as follows;

Equatoria Based States as follow;
1.     Imatong States; which comprise of Torit, Ikotos, Lopa and Magwi Counties with Torit as it State Capital.
2.     Namorunyang State; comprises of Kapoeta South, Kapoeta North, Kapoeta East, and Budi Counties with Kapoeta as it state capital.
3.     Maridi State; comprises of Maridi and Ibba Counties with Maridi as the state capital.
4.     Amadi State; comprises of Mundri West, Mundri East and Mvolo Counties with Mundri as the state capital.
5.     Gbudwe State; comprises of Anzara, Yambio, Ezo, Tambura, Nagero Counties with Yambio as the State Capital.
6.     Jubek State; comprises of Juba with Juba as it state Capital.
7.     Terekeka State; comprises of Terekeka, Jemeza, Tali, Tigor and Gwor Counties with Terekeka as the State Capital.
8.     Yei River State; comprises of Yei, Kajo-keji, Morobo and Lainya Counties with Yei as the state capital.
Bahr Al Ghazal Based States as follow;
9.     Wau State; comprises of Bagari and Jur River Counties with Wau as the state capital.
10.   Aweil State; comprises of Aweil South, Aweil Centre Counties with Aweil as the State Capital.
11.  Lol State; comprises of Aweil West, Aweil North and Raga Counties with Raga as the State Capital.
12.  Aweil East State; comprise of Aweil East with Wanyjok as the State capital.
13. Twic State; comprises of Twic County with Mayen Abun as the State Capital.
14. Gogrial East; comprises of Gogrial East and Gogrial West Counties with Kuacjok as the State Capital.
15. Tonj State; comprise of Tonj North, Tonj East and Tonj South Counties with Tonj as the State Capital.
16.  Eastern Lakes State; comprises of Yirol West, Yirol East and Awerial Counties with Yirol as the State Capital.
17. Western Lakes State; comprise of Rumbek East, Rumbek North Rumbek Centre, and Wulu Counties with Rumbek as the State Capital.
18.  Gok State; comprises of Cueibet County with Cueibet as the State Capital.
Upper Nile Based States as follows;
19.  Northern Liech State; comprise of Rubkona, Guit, Koch, and Mayom Counties with Bentiu as the State Capital.
20.   Southern Liech State; comprises of Leer, Mayendit, and Panyijar Counties with Leer as the State Capital.
21. Ruweng State; comprises of Panrieng, Abiemnom Counties with Panriang as the State Capital.
22.  Eastern Nile State; comprises of Malakal, Renk, Maban, Melut, Baliet, Akoka, Pigi and Koma Counties with Malakal as the State Capital.
23.  Jonglei State; comprises of Bor, Duk and Twic East Counties with Bor as the State Capital.
24.  Western Nile State; comprises of Panyikang, Kodok, and Manyo Counties with Kodok as the State Capital.
25.  Western Bieh State; comprises of Fangak and Ayod Counties with Ayod as the State Capital.
26. Eastern Bieh State; comprises of Akobo, Nyirol, Urol Counties with Akobo as the State Capital.
27.  Latjoor State; comprises of Nasir, Ulang, Maiwut and Longuchuk Counties with Nasir as the State Capital.
28.   Boma State; comprises of Pibor and Pochalla Counties with Pibor as the State Capital.

The flag, emblem, seal and festivals shall be prescribed by the State Legislative Assembly.

According to Order No. 6 for the powers of the State, the State shall have the Executive and Legislative powers as per scheduled B, C D and E of the Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan.

The President said Order No. 03/2015 dated 18th February 2015, for the Establishment of Abyei Administrative Area shall remain in force and all the institution there under shall continue to perform their duties functions and duties till further actions are taken to that effect.

“After coming into forces and in accordance with the order, the President shall appoint the State Governors and State Legislative Assembly whose members shall be inclusive, representative and considerate of the 25% of the women as mandated by the constitution” reads part of the Interim Order 09.

The Interim Order No. 09 continues that all State institutions, laws and regulation shall conform to and operate in accordance with the provision of the Transitional Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan. 

“This order shall not be amended saved by another order issued to that effect by the President of the Republic” reads amendment order No.10.


Posted in: Home
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X