New Sudan Council of Chiefs Formed As 1,800 Chiefs Join the SPLM

1,000 chiefs from different states of the Sudan officially declared their coalition with the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM). The coalition ceremony organized by the National Organizing Committee (NOC) was held on 7th November 2005 at 'Saha-Shabiya' (People’s Square) in Dium Al-Wassat in Khartoum South.

The occasion marked the defection of some Sudanese chiefs from National Congress Party (NCP) to SPLM, where 1,000 chiefs and 800 Umdas representing 26 states of the Sudan declared their coalition (membership) to the SPLM with immediate effect.
The chiefs formed what they called New Sudan Council of Sudanese Chiefs (NSCC) and issued a political press statement. NSCC declared their official coalition with SPLM in order to have an organized body that represents the Sudanese chiefs from different regions in order to achieve the aspirations of the Sudanese people.

The chiefs used the opportunity to convey their gratitude to the late Dr. John Garang de Mabior and NSCC declared full support to SPLM. They pledged to stand firm with Lt. Gen. Salva Kiir Mayardit, Chairman and Commander-in-Chief of SPLM/A, by committing themselves to implement the CPA and work for a better Sudan.

Speaking to the Gurtong Correspondent, Chief Nyol Edward Arop, Secretary General of NSCC stated that NSCC would like to work to ensure stability, democracy and balanced development in order to create social integration by means of reconciliation and mutual respect for one another.
The Secretary General of NSCC outlined the plan of action as:

1. Full support to the CPA and New Sudan Project.
2. To organize and encourage voluntary repatriation.
3. To organize conferences on peaceful co-existence among Sudanese communities.
4. To demand for and support peaceful solutions to Darfur and Eastern Sudan’s problems.
5. To approach international humanitarian organizations and/or Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) and civil society organizations to support the Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and the most vulnerable and destitute as a result of war.

The following chiefs were elected as founder members to the Executive Committee of NSCC:

Name Position State
Chief Lek Malong Yor   Chairman     Northern Bahr al-Ghazal
 Chief Kuku Nur       Deputy Chairman  Nuba Mountains

Posted in: Governance
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X