South Sudan Interim Cabinet Announced

In Khartoum, Sunday, 23 October 2005

His Excellency, Lt. General Salva Kiir Mayardit, the Chairman and Cdr-in-Chief of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement/Army (SPLM/A), the First Vice President of the Republic of Sudan and the President of the Government of Southern Sudan (GoSS) announced on Saturday in Juba the names of the ministers in the GoSS in line with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement(CPA).
Radio Juba announced yesterday, that the newly appointed ministers and advisors will be sworn in on Monday October 24, at the Secretariat General of the Government of South Sudan (GoSS) in Juba, in the presence of President Kiir Mayardit.

The South Sudan President issued a decree No.15 for the year 2005 appointing twenty ministers to the designated ministries in the Southern Sudan Interim Cabinet, and also issued Decree No. 16 for the year 2005 appointing seven Presidential Advisors.

Of the 22 ministries designated for South Sudan, the ministries of SPLA Affairs and Cooperative & Rural Development are to be announced at a later date following “necessary consultations”.
There are four women appointed: two Ministers and two Advisors, with Madam Rebecca Nyandeng, widow of Late Dr. John Garang de Mabior, most noticeable.

The following are the newly appointed members of Southern Sudan Interim Cabinet:

1. Dr. Riek Machar Teny -Vice- President, Housing, Land and Public Utility

2. Dr. Justin Yaac Arop - Cabinet Affairs

3. To Be Appointed - SPLM/A Affairs

4. Mr. Daniel Awet Akot - Police and Security

5. Mr. Arthur Akuien Chol - Finance & Economic Planning

6. Mr. Nhial Deng Nhial - Regional Cooperation

7. Justice Michael Makuei Lueth -Legal Affairs and Constitutional Development

8. Dr. Michael Milli Hussein - Education, Science & Technology

9. Dr. Theophilus Ochang Lotti – Health

10. Mr. Albino Akol Akol - Industry and Mining

11. Mr. Anthony Lino Makana - Commerce, Trade and Supply

12. Dr. Samson L. Kwaje- Information, Radio and Television

13. Mr. Gier Cuang Aluong - Telecommunications & Postal Services

14. Madam Rebeccah N. De Mabior - Transport & Roads

15. Mr. James Loro Siricio - Environment & Wildlife Conservation

16. Dr. Martin Elia Lomuro - Agriculture and Forestry

17. Dr. Festo Kumbo - Animal Resources & Fisheries

18. Mr. David Deng Athorbei - Labour, Public Service & Human Resource Development

19. Mr. John Luk Jok- Culture, Youth & Sports

20. To Be Appointed - Co-operative and Rural Development

21. Ms. Mary Kiden - Gender, Social Welfare and Religious Affairs

22. Mr. Joseph Dair Joakok - Water Resources & Irrigation


Advisors to the Presidency

Lual Diing Wol - Political Advisor

Samuel Abujohn - Federal Affairs

Fr. George Kinga - Religious Affairs

Pagan Amum - Diplomatic Affairs

Awut Deng - Gender and Human Right

Agnes Lukudu - Develpoment


RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X