New TGONU Cabinet Formed In South Sudan

The President of South Sudan, Salva Kiir Mayardit has dissolved the entire cabinet in a decree read today evening on national television.

 TGONU Cabinet Formed In South Sudan
President Salva Kiir Mayardit

JUBA, 28 April 2016 [Gurtong]-The decree follows the return of the rebel leader Riek Machar, who arrived the country on Tuesday in readiness to form the Transitional Government of National Unity.

The new cabinet includes 16 national ministers of the SPLM-IG, 10 national ministers from the SPLM-IO,  2 from the FDs and  two from the Opposition paprties.

  1. Martin Elia Lomoro, Minister of Cabinet Affairs
  2. Deng Alor Kuol, Minister of Foreign Affairs
  3. Kuol Manyang Juuk, Minister of Defense and Veteran Affairs
  4. Alfred Ladu Gore, Minister of Interior
  5. Paulino Wanawila, Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs
  6. Maboe Mamur, Minister in the office of the President for National Security
  7. Peter Bashir Bandi, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
  8. Michael Makuei Lueth, Minister of Information, Communication, Technology and Postal Services
  9. Richard K, Mulla, Minister of Federal Affairs
  10. Mayik Ayii Deng, Minister in the Office of the President
  11. Deng Athorbei, Minister of Finance and Economic Planning
  12. Dak Duop Bichock, Minister of Petroleum
  13. Taban Deng Gai, Minister of Mining
  14. Lam Akol, Minister of Agriculture and Food Security
  15. James Janda Duku, Minister of Livestock and Fisheries
  16. Stephen Dhieu Dau, Minister of Trade and Industries
  17. Dhieu Mathok, Minister of Energy and Dams 
  18. John Luk Jok, Minister of Transport
  19. Rebecca Joshua Okwaci, Minister of Roads and Bridges
  20. Josephine Napon, Minister of Environment and Forestry
  21. Mary Alphone Minister of Land, Housing and Urban Development
  22. Mabior Garang de Mabior, Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation
  23. Jimma Nunu Kumba, Minister of Wildlife Conservation and Tourism
  24. Peter Adwok Nyaba, Minister of Higher Education Science and Technology
  25. Deng Deng Hoc , Minister of General Education and Instructions
  26. Dr. Riak Gai Kok, Minister of Health
  27. Peter Marcello, Minister of Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development
  28. Awut Deng Acuil , Minister of Gender, Child and Social Welfare
  29. Nadia Arop Dudi, Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports
  30. Hussein Mar Nyuot, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management.

Deputy ministers include:

1) Cirino Hiteng, deputy minister of foreign affairs and international cooperation, (FDs)

2) David Yauyau, deputy minister of defense and veterans affairs, (SPLM-IG)

 3) Gabriel Duop Lam, deputy minister of interior, (SPLM-IO)

4) Matison Otoromoi, deputy minister of justice and constitutional affairs, (SPLM-IG)

5) Akol Paul Kordit, deputy minister of information, communication, technology and postal service, (SPLM-IG),

6) Mary Jarvas Yak, deputy minister of finance and planning, (SPLM-IG)

7) Kornelio Kon Guk, agriculture and food security, (OPPs)

8) Elizabeth Achol Yol, labour, public service and human resource development, (SPLM-IO).

The new government of Transitional Unity is now expected to implement reforms in the country.


Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X