Parliament Elects Members For East African Parliament

The Transitional National Legislative Assembly yesterday elected 6 members to represent the country in the East African Legislative Assembly.

By Jale Richard

JUBA, 04 August 2017 [Gurtong]-The members are Gabriel Alaak Garang with 217 votes, Gabriel Garang Aher Arol with 172 votes and Thomas Tut Gatkek Deng with 152 votes, all from the SPLM party.

Two independent candidates also won the election. Mukulia Kennedy Ayason who got 148 votes and Kim Gai Ruot secured 129 votes.

Gideon Gatpan Thoar is the only elected from the SPLM in opposition. He got 122 votes.

The elected six members, all male joins unopposed female colleagues, Dr. Ann Itto Leonardo, Dr. Woda Jeremiah Odak, and Mrs. Gai Deng Nhial who were declared elected members of the EALA parliament by the Speaker Anthony Lino Makana on Wednesday.

The three females were the only ones nominated for the race. The three positions were exclusively for women according to the East African elections rules and regulations, according to the Speaker of parliament.

According to South Sudan Election Act 2012 Chapter Four Article 85, “where a candidate is the sole candidate nominated at the close of nominations and is duly accepted by the commission to contest a geographical constituency, or is the sole candidate following the withdrawal of all other candidates, the commission shall declare that candidate elected unopposed within forty-eight hours from the close of the period of nominations or the deadline for withdrawals set.”
The 26 male candidates battled in the elections after a campaign in the parliament on Wednesday.

The race to the EALA attracted 29 candidates, out of which 15 are independent candidates; 6 from the Sudan People’s liberation movement (SPLM), 6 from other political parties, and two from SPLM in opposition.

In June, the Attorney General and Speaker of the Transitional Assembly revoked the nomination of nine Members to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA), following a legal suit by Wani Santino in the East African Court, over alleged violation of article 50 of the East African Treaty.

President Kiir had appointed the nine members, including Gabriel Garang Aher Arol; Gai Deng Nhial, Dr. Anne Itto Leonardo, Isac Aziz Justin Bazugba, Gabriel Alaak Garang and Thomes Dut Gatkek from the ruling Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM), as its EALA representatives.

The others are Adil Elais Sandrai and Gideon Gatpan Thoar from SPLM-in-Opposition, and Joseph Ukel Ubango from the United Sudan African Party.


Posted in: Home, Governance
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment
Log in
to post a comment. If you are not a Gurtong member yet, register here.
Designed and built by Brand X