South Sudan On Alert As Ebola Outbreak Reported In DRC

The Ministry of Health in South Sudan on Friday said it has set up an emergency response team across the border between South Sudan and the Democratic Republic of Congo following reports of Ebola outbreak in North and Western Part DRC.

By James Deng Dimo

WAU, 12 May 2018 [Gurtong] –According to the ministry, the team is mandated to deal with any suspected case of Ebola for emergency testing and diagnose.

The move comes after yet another Ebola outbreak was reported in Democratic Republic of Congo on Tuesday.

According to Dr. Matthew Tut, the Director of Emergency, Preparedness and Response at the health ministry in South Sudan, the areas where Ebola was declared are far from former Western Equatoria which is bordering DRC.

He said measures put in place include screening the travellers with sensitive detective machines.

“People should not panic because all preparations are in place. What we need from the general public is to report to the health authorities if you suspect anyone with unusual signs and symptoms,” said Dr. Matthew Tut.

Ebola virus disease (EVD), formerly known as Ebola hemorrhagic fever, is a severe, often fatal illness in humans. The virus is transmitted to people from wild animals and spreads in the human population through human-to-human transmission.

The World Health Organization says good outbreak control relies on applying a package of interventions, namely case management, infection prevention and control practices,
surveillance and contact tracing, a good laboratory service, safe burials and social mobilization.

It further says early supportive care with rehydration, symptomatic treatment improves survival. There is as yet no licensed treatment proven to neutralize the virus but a range of blood, immunological and drug therapies are under development.

In September 2013 to 2016, WHO reported five of Ebola cases in Democratic Republic of Congo since it sparked in West African nations.

The Ebola virus epidemic was reported in West African Nations including Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

Posted in: Home, Governance
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X