State,emt from the Office Of The President, Government Of Southern Sudan

On Wednesday 1st November in Juba, His Excellency Dr. Riek Machar Teny, in his capacity as Acting President of the Government of Southern Sudan, presided over a ceremony to swear in members of the Committee formed to investigate the circumstances surrounding the suspension of five senior officials

The swearing in ceremony was conducted by Molana Ambrose Riiny Thiik, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in Juba, and took place in the presence of H.E. Dr. Luka Biong Deng, GOSS Minister for Presidential Affairs, H.E. Arthur Akuien Chol, GOSS Minister for Finance and Economic Planning, H.E. Michael H.E. Michael Makuei Lueth, GOSS Minister for Legal Affairs and Constitutional Development and GOSS Secretary General, Abdon Agaw Jok Nhial.

The Investigation Committee was formed under the terms of Southern Sudan Presidential Decree No. 112/2006, which was issued on the 28th of October 2006, under Article 103 of the Interim Constitution of the Southern Sudan. Its members are: Mr. Majok Mading Majok (Chairperson), Undersecretary of the Ministry of Legal Affairs and Constitutional Development; Dr. Mark Zangabeyo (Secretary), Director General of the Ministry of Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development; Maj. General Peter Wal Athiu (member), Undersecretary of the Ministry of Internal Affairs; Professor Paul Logali Jumi (member), of the Southern Sudan Audit Chamber; Mr. Simon Ding Yol (member), of the Southern Sudan Civil Service Commission; Mr. Awad Masha (member), of the Southern Sudan Anti Corruption Commission; and Mr. Ajang Akoon (member), of the Southern Sudan Employees Justice Chamber.

The members of the Investigation Committee swore to faithfully and honestly discharge the duties conferred upon them by the President’s decree. The decree charges the Committee with investigating the validity of the allegations raised against the suspended individuals, and orders that the Committee should be granted free access to all relevant information, in the possession of individuals or institutions, in order to facilitate their work.

The Investigation Committee will be assisted by the GOSS Minister for Presidential Affairs, and is instructed to come up with specific recommendations related to the allegations. The Committee’s final report must be submitted to the Office of the President at the latest by Friday 10th November, two weeks from the date of signing of Presidential Decree No. 112/2006.

RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Designed and built by Brand X