9 Mar 2021



The Republic of South Sudan (RSS) was established in 2011.

The powers of the Government of the Republic of South Sudan originate from the will of the people of Southern Sudan, the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA), the Interim Constitution of the Republic of South Sudan and the Interim National Constitution.

Powers of the Government of South Sudan

The exclusive legislative and executive powers of Government of Southern Sudan shall be as follows:

1.The adoption and amendment of the Constitution of the Government of Southern Sudan;

2. Police, Prisons and Wildlife Services;

3.Security and military forces during the Interim Period;

4.Legislation relating to the Government of Southern Sudan structures for the delivery of services at all levels of Government of Southern Sudan;

5.Borrowing of money on the sole credit of the Government of Southern Sudan within the national macro-economic policy;

6.Planning for Southern Sudan Government services including health, education, and welfare, etc;

7.The appointment, tenure and payment of Government of Southern Sudan (GOSS) officers and civil servants;

8.Development of financial resources for the Government of Southern Sudan;

9.The co-ordination of Southern Sudan services or the establishment of minimum South Sudan standards or the establishment of Southern Sudan uniform norms in respect of any matter or service referred to in Schedule C or Schedule D, read together with Schedule E, with the exception of Item 1 of Schedule C, including but not limited to, education, health, welfare, police (without prejudice to the National Standards and Regulations), prisons, state public services, such authority over civil and criminal laws and judicial institutions, lands, reformatories, personal law, intra-state business, commerce and trade, tourism, environment, agriculture, disaster intervention, fire and medical emergency services, commercial regulation, provision of electricity, water and waste management services, local Government, control of animal diseases and veterinary services, consumer protection, and any other matters referred to in the above Schedules; 

10. Any power that a state or the National Government requests the Government of Southern Sudan to exercise on its behalf, subject to the agreement of the Government of Southern Sudan or that for reasons of efficiency the Government of Southern Sudan itself requests to exercise in South Sudan and that other level agrees;

11. Referenda in South Sudan on matters affecting South Sudan within the competencies of Southern Sudan Government;

12. Taxation and revenue raising in South Sudan;

13. South Sudan Budget;

14. Public utilities of Government of Southern Sudan;

15. Government of Southern Sudan flag and emblem;

16. Reconstruction and development of the Southern Sudan;

17. Government of Southern Sudan information, publications, media and telecommunications utilities;

18. Rehabilitation and benefits to disabled war veterans, orphans, widows and care for the dependents of deceased war fallen heroes;

19. Any matter relating to an item referred to in schedule D that cannot be dealt with effectively by a single state and requires Government of Southern Sudan legislation or intervention including, but not limited to the following:-

(1) Matters relating to businesses, trade licenses and conditions of operation;
(2) Natural resources and forestry;
(3) Town and rural planning;
(4) Disputes arising from the management of interstate waters within Southern
(5) Fire fighting and ambulance services;
(6) GOSS reformatory institutions;
(7) Firearms licenses within Southern Sudan; and
(8) Government of Southern Sudan recreation and sports.

20. Such matters relating to taxation, royalties and economic planning as is specified in the Agreement on Wealth Sharing;

21. South Sudan census and statistics within the competence of the Southern Sudan Government;

22. Issuance of identity cards within South Sudan, driving licenses and any other appropriate documentation.
Source: Schedule B of the Interim Constitution of Southern Sudan.


Government of the Republic of South Sudan (RSS)

  About South Sudan
  Ten States
  Legislative Assembly
  The Judiciary
  Independent Commissions
  Laws, Legislation & Policies
  Investing in South Sudan

Governance of the Republic of South Sudan States

     Central Equatoria State
     Eastern Equatoria State
     Jonglei State
    Lakes State   
     Northern Bahr el Ghazal State
     Unity State
    Upper Nile State
     Warrap State
     Western Bahr el Ghazal State
     Western Equatoria State