19 Jan 2020

Powers of the States Government


The exclusive executive and legislative powers of a state of the Sudan shall be as follows:-

1. The Constitution of the state, subject to compliance with the National Constitution, and, as relevant, the Constitution of Southern Sudan;

2. State Police, prisons;

3. Local Government;

4. State information, state publications and state media;

5. Social Welfare including state pensions;

6. The Civil Service at the state level;

7. The State Judiciary and administration of justice at state level including maintenance and organization of state Courts, and subject to national norms and standards, civil and criminal procedure;

8. State Land and state Natural Resources;

9. Cultural matters within the state;

10. Regulation of religious matters;

11. Internal and external borrowing of money on the sole credit of the state within the National macro-economic framework;

12. The establishment, tenure, appointment, and payment of state officers;

13. The management, lease and utilization of lands belonging to the state;

14. The establishment, maintenance and management of reformatory institutions;

15. The establishment, regulation, and provision of health care, including hospitals and other health institutions;

16. Regulation of businesses, trade licenses, working conditions, hours, and holidays within the state;

17. Local works and undertakings;

18. Registration of marriage, divorce, inheritance, births, deaths, adoption and affiliations;

19. Enforcement of state laws;

20. Statutes enacted under the penal law power, save for the penalization for the breach of National laws relating to the national competencies;

21. The development, conservation and management of state natural resources and state forestry resources;

22. Primary and secondary schools and education administration in regard thereto;

23. Laws in relation to agriculture within the state;

24. Airstrips other than international and national airports within civil aviation regulations;

25. Intrastate public transport and roads;

26. Population policy and family planning;

27. Pollution control;

28. State statistics, and state surveys;

29. State referenda;

30. Charities and endowment;

31. Quarrying regulations;

32. Town and rural planning;

33. State cultural and heritage sites, state libraries, state museums, and other historical sites;
34. Traditional and customary law;

35. State finances;

36. State irrigation and embankments;

37. State Budget;

38. State archives, antiquities, and monuments;

39. Direct and indirect taxation within the state in order to raise revenue for the state;

40. State public utilities;

41. Vehicle licensing;

42. Fire fighting and ambulance services;

43. Recreation and sport within the state;

44. Firearms Licenses; and

45. Flag and emblem of the state.

Source: Schedule B of the Interim Constitution of Southern Sudan.

Related Links

   National Powers
   Powers of the Government of Southern Sudan
   Concurrent Powers
   Residual Powers
   Resolution of Conflicts in Respect of Concurrent Powers

Other Links

The Structure of State Government

Powers of the Government of South Sudan

The Structure of the Government of South Sudan

Southern Sudan Independent Commissions and Institutions

List of Members of the Southern Sudan Regional Assembly

Cabinet List of the New Sudan Government of National Unity (GoNU)